Eastern Nazarene Inducts 15 into Chi Sigma Alpha Honor Society

Eastern Nazarene Inducts 15 into Chi Sigma Alpha Honor Society

QUINCY, Mass.- The Eastern Nazarene College athletics department has announced the 2012-13 Chi Sigma Alpha inductees, the National College Athlete Honor Society. A total of 15 student-athletes have earned the distinction.

The NCAHS recognizes students who receive a varsity letter in their sport while maintaining a 3.4 or higher cumulative GPA by completing five or more semesters. Besides being based on outstanding scholarship, the athlete must earn an athletic letter and be recommended for excellent character and citizenship.

The mission of the NCAHS is to bring honor and recognition to deserving student-athletes, their families, teams, athletic departments and college in much the same way as Phi Beta Kappa honors academic achievement. The governing board of the NCAHS represents all levels of competition in the NCAA and NAIA.

Graduating seniors who are members of Chi Alpha Sigma are presented with a National Honor Society medallion to be worn at graduation. Red and white cords are worn at graduation to acknowledge and recognize the accomplishment of all graduating athletes.

The Lions’ women’s tennis team led the way with three honorees: Juju Atwater (Weymouth, Mass.), Samantha Jones (Wareham, Mass.) and Kelsey Waddle (Olathe, Kan.).

The Eastern Nazarene men’s cross country, women’s soccer, men’s soccer and men’s tennis team were each represented by two student-athletes.

The women’s soccer honorees were Erin Daley (Byfield, Mass.) and Abby Spitler (Gaithersburg, Md.). Jong Chan Lee (Makati, South Korea) and Ryan Piesco (Duxbury, Mass.) of the men’s soccer program were recognized while Tim Luz (Cumberland, R.I.) and Nick Thompson (York, Pa.) also earned the distinction. The men’s cross country team was represented by Michael O’Brien (Manchester, Maine) and Joshua Whitney (Twinsburg, Ohio).

Matt Jayne (Quincy, Mass.) of the Lions’ baseball team, Abigail Moore (Sheridan, Calif.) of the softball squad, Heather Pardi (Windsor Locks, Conn.) of the women’s cross country program and Leann Williams (Oxford, Pa.) of the volleyball team were the lone honorees from their respective sports.